Peace and War

Think Peace sign with olive branch

Two years ago I posted a video and lyrics from a beautiful holiday song and it has become somewhat of an RL tradition.  Today I am just posting the lyrics to the song, based on a Longfellow poem. Even though the song mentions God, I believe regardless of religious persuasion the listener can find a message that resonates. Unfortunately, we live in a time of peace and war. In the spirit of the day, I will deal with war some other time. Today, we talk about peace.

No matter how bad things seem to be, there is always tomorrow and always the opportunity for good to defeat evil. No matter what damage is done, evil cannot destroy hope for a better tomorrow.

I Heard The Bells on Christmas Day

I heard the bells on Christmas day
Their old familiar carols play
And mild and sweet their songs repeat
Of peace on earth good will to men

And the bells are ringing
Like a choir they’re singing
In my heart I hear them
Peace on earth, good will to men

And in despair I bowed my head
There is no peace on earth I said
For hate is strong and mocks the song
Of peace on earth, good will to men

But the bells are ringing
Like a choir singing
Does anybody hear them?
Peace on earth, good will to men

Then rang the bells more loud and deep
God is not dead, nor doth He sleep
The wrong shall fail, the right prevail
With peace on earth, good will to men

Then ringing singing on its way
The world revolved from night to day
A voice, a chime, a chant sublime
Of peace on earth, good will to men

And the bells they’re ringing
Like a choir they’re singing
And with our hearts we’ll hear them
Peace on earth, good will to men

Do you hear the bells they’re ringing?
The life the angels singing
Open up your heart and hear them
Peace on earth, good will to men

Peace on earth, Peace on earth
Peace on earth, Good will to men

Respectfully,
Rutherford

WordPress.com Political Blogger Alliance

99 thoughts on “Peace and War

  1. For hate is strong and mocks the song
    Of peace on earth, good will to men

    Agreed….seems to deck the halls.

    Peace on earth. It will happen, despite all the efforts to the contrary.

    Have a blessed Christmas!!

  2. OK, gotta get some sleep for the big day. Kid is getting a Wii (bought with skymiles) that she wants badly and doesn’t think she’s gonna get. I may have to have the paramedics on speed dial when she unwraps it and has a heart attack. 🙂

    For those of you with young kids, have a blast (I know BiW’s got at least one young one).

  3. Choctaw – good job! Merry Christmas to all.

    I need to get my wife to bed so I can stuff her stocking. Which means I may be up for awhile. 😦

  4. Now, I seem to remember folks like R and the degenerate twins Frick (Chin) and Fuck (Bitch) going on, and on, and on, and on about the LIES!!!! of Obamacare’s Death Panels. Well, if you can’t do it through the legislative process, just cram it through executive policy…

    Obama Returns to End-of-Life Plan That Caused Stir
    (NY Times)- When a proposal to encourage end-of-life planning touched off a political storm over “death panels,” Democrats dropped it from legislation to overhaul the health care system. But the Obama administration will achieve the same goal by regulation, starting Jan. 1.

    Under the new policy, outlined in a Medicare regulation, the government will pay doctors who advise patients on options for end-of-life care, which may include advance directives to forgo aggressive life-sustaining treatment.

    Congressional supporters of the new policy, though pleased, have kept quiet. They fear provoking another furor like the one in 2009 when Republicans seized on the idea of end-of-life counseling to argue that the Democrats’ bill would allow the government to cut off care for the critically ill.

    While the new law does not mention advance care planning, the Obama administration has been able to achieve its policy goal through the regulation-writing process, a strategy that could become more prevalent in the next two years as the president deals with a strengthened Republican opposition in Congress.

    Hmmmmmmm, I seem to remember the Dem’s favorite caveman going on and on about the GOP pushing death.

    Not so much…

  5. Dems, GOP.. it really don’t matter.. The Heath care is just smoke and mirrors.. we all know this! THERE IS NO MONEY in the KITTY.. duh..

    2011 is gonna be a HUGE problemo.. I just saw China raise their rate.. INFLATION there.. what else is new?

    That 600 billion Q2 poop.. will not work. FEAR is taking hold on international markets… The dominos are falling. Shelia Blair still is shutting down the banks..

    Okieland will do okay.. because WE ARE AN ENERGY state!

    However, it will only be a matter of time.. when again, those bennies run out for folks.. They seriously need to focus on the National Debt.. people will not be getting welfare checks nor other stuff this year! I think this spring some states will have to chuck it.

    The retail figures will say all is well.. However, I think a lot of folks CHARGE IT.. The new stuff with credit companies today is FEES.. even a fee to use the card without having a balances. If that starts.. people will STOP charging.. write checks.. However, then the BANKS will get on the band wagon with the FEES.. The days of free checking are OVER!

  6. Ape, you may want to hang on to your earthly life until the bitter end through terrible pain and suffering. You may even wish that for your loved ones – putting off their reunion with Jesus for as long as possible. If so, more power to you. Knock yourself out.

    But some of us would like to know more about “options for end of life care” (e.g.hospice care), and about advance directives that would allow someone else to make decisions about our care when we are no longer able to do so. I can’t imagine how paying doctors to provide that information is a bad thing.

    As you well know, the implication of “death panels” was that someone in the government would decide who lives and who dies. That was always a lie intended to scare the weak-minded.

    In your case, it’s working.

  7. good morning–hope everyone had a great Christmas. I am a newbie here but would appreciate people’s thoughts about the “end of life care” issues. I can’t see the problem if, in fact, it is simply compensating doctors for providing information about things such as hospice.

    We had a very difficult family situation with cancer and were able to obtain information about the opions and make her passing as peaceful (at home) and pain-free (medicated through home hospice workers) as possible. And I know that my state permits advance health care directives. Not sure how this is different.

  8. As you well know, the implication of “death panels” was that someone in the government would decide who lives and who dies. ” – Chin

    Ass-monkey, it is YOUR Obama administration that is already banning cancer medication based on cost, rather than effectiveness.

    Once again you don’t let the facts get in the way of your partisan bullshit…

  9. So much for the holiday thread. Sorry G the Death Panel thing is hyperbole started by Queen Deceiver Sarah Palin. You know this but it’s fun for you to toss the crap around.

    Insurance companies make care decisions for us all the time.

    What I really think is pathetic is that doctors demand to be paid to give simple advice that costs them nothing. If I were a doctor I’d gladly give end of life consultation for free.

  10. Meribeth, I’m only a semi-regular here. I enjoy Rutherford’s essays, but beyond him you aren’t likely to find much reasoned discussion over Rutherford’s high-quality posts. The Ape has already given us a fairly good example this morning of his style of discourse. (“Ass monkey”? :D)

    Your family situation demonstrates the need for the kinds of options for care that the ACA would attempt make available to everyone. But in ConservativeWorld, that’s a bad thing, because…. well, just because.

    But when insurance companies limit care based on cost, it’s only the good old “free enterprise” system at work – which of course is a good thing.

    I know – I can’t figure these guys out either. They must be nucking futz.

    Happy New Year to all. Maybe I’ll see you in the next thread.

  11. Really,you honestly think that in a beurocracy like this, that there won’t be any “cost bennefit analysis” done on long term care?

    In that case, I’ve got a bridge for sale in New York that you might be interested in…

  12. Rutherford, doctors sell their time and knowledge. It’s all they have. They happen to be the world’s biggest whiners, so why can’t we throw them the bone of paying them for end of life consultations? I can’t believe it isn’t already covered by Medicare and other insurance. (Unless it’s blocked by “right to life” types, or some other foolishness.)

    And since we have abandoned our Christmas good cheer, let me point out that we have wished each other Merry Christmas in this thread in four languages. It is illegal to use one, and only one, of those languages for official State business in Oklahoma. Would anyone care to guess which one?

  13. So much for the holiday thread.

    I thought it the Christmas thread? 🙂

    It is illegal to use one, and only one, of those languages for official State business in Oklahoma. Would anyone care to guess which one?

    I thought doctors were the biggest whiners? Seems to me liberals, especially from Eastern Oklahoma, home to many of biggest fish in the smallest ponds, do an incredible amount of whining. One I know has an entire feckless blog dedicated to whining where they whine about where they live.

    They don’t call it Indian Territory for nothing.

    Don’t like it, move whiner… Lord knows 75% of the people in this state don’t want you here.

  14. Happy New Year to all. Maybe I’ll see you in the next thread.

    One thing I have noticed. In your absence, it has been a whole lot better here. A whole lot better. Rutherford may have missed the support since he feels outnumbered here – trust me, no one else did Rambo.

    ~ sociopath 😉

  15. Gorilla, I’m not entirely convinced our “brave” medal of honor winner (cough cough) was an accountant. He sure seems to have a dearth of knowledge about tax law, if he was.

    I’m not sure Rambo was a great many things he claims to be. I mean, if you were supposedly that accomplished, would you share your name and a blog with Yeller Dawg?

    Rambo is the Ted Baxter of Mary Tyler Moore fame concerning blogging.

  16. You mean he didn’t earn two Bronze stars from Vietnam?

    I feel robbed of my innocense…

    No, I don’t think he was an accountant either, but that wasn’t the point. He seems to think very lowly of people who train and educate themselves for years, and then have the audacity to think that knowledge is worth something.

    I mean, does he not pontificate about how smart the one is and that his “knowledge” is what makes him so special? More special than you or I?

    The fact of the matter is that our Constitutional scholar (cough, cough) of a President has repeatedly and continuously violated key portions of the Constitution, and general law altogether. Does the Chin know he is being dishonest? Of course, but when has that stopped a liberal…

  17. Holiday comes from the Old English language and means Holy day.

    Xmas has been used for hundreds of years in religious writing, where the X represents a Greek chi, the first letter of ΧρɩστοΣ, “Christ.”

    I used to get offended when people used these things in place of Christmas. That was until I learned that the meaning wasn’t opposed to the Christ or the significance of the time. But like a lot of the English language, Americans are generally not aware of the origins of some words or even the proper meanings much of the time. Thus the usual irrational rant…

  18. Not irrational this time Poolman – very good, as I was just waiting for the opportunity to bash the Christmas bashers. The usual pagans here didn’t take the bait.

    No matter how hard they try and minimize Christ, they can’t. 😉

    So from now on, when some of these neo-pagans gives me the ‘Happy Holiday’ during the Christmas season, I will answer, “Yes, it is a Happy Holy Day called Christmas. You too!”

  19. Ok let me try again. I don’t understand why end of life counseling is this big deal from a doc’s POV or from Medicare’s. All the issues of how we die are fair game with our doctor. What? The doc says “I won’t discuss this with you cos I don’t know how to bill it”?

    This topic has never made sense to me. Tex, you’re the closest to the medical “industry” among us. Quit the rhetoric for one minute and help me understand why this whole counseling thing needs to be such an issue.

    “I’m your mothers doctor. You’re worried about what to do in her final days. Let’s talk about it.” What is the big f*cking deal?

  20. We don’t need no stinking death panels. We got drones, man. Between them and BP we can reduce the peeps. No problemo.

  21. First you unfairly slam me for breaking the peace, and now you’re accusing me of rhetoric. That’s not very hospitable of you Santa Lawson. And I’ve been so nice recently since Graychin and Flake left. I thought I had completed my task. Damn…

    What do you want me to answer again Brother “R”? You mean the doctor counseling the patient?

    Here’s how I feel about the whole shebang. Unlike Graychin, I respect all life (except his – who I would happily euthanize in the most painful way possible doing the entire world a huge favor, given the legal chance; I keep thinking of a red ant pile or bee hives 😈 ).

    Why all people over 60 don’t have living wills, I do not know as that would answer many questions you’re all posing here and require little consulting.

    I in know way feel like it is the doctor’s right or responsibility to decide when to terminate a life. I’m a big proponent of pain management, which America does a perfectly lousy job as a whole. The pain management treatment may be of such effectivity that it may actually hasten the death, but the intent should be to minimize discomfort only.

    Before you slam me with your platitudes Brother “R” about that is euthanasia, intent means everything. I can provide examples to further explain, if need be.

    Doctors should be paid for any and all consulting. Contrary to dum dum’s insinuation from above, most doctors aren’t whiners, deserve a fair wage considering they have on average 12 years of schooling before receiving their first real paycheck. CPAs are a profession where one takes a four part test numerous times if need be, and only needs to pass two of the four parts to put them aside to concentrate on the remaining sections. Most achieve this by 22. They don’t do that for boards, which you are required to pass three times along the way just to be called doctor – and you still make peanuts until a fellowship completed four years hence, which you get the luxury of taking another exam.

    It’s a shame Rambo doesn’t have the cajones to tell his medicare fraud “friend” who treats his mommie dearest about what a whiner doctors are….you can bet Rambo was kissing the ass of Dr. Medicare Fraud while servicing Mrs. Bull Connor and not a mention was made of whining as long as Uncle Sam and not Sonny were paying for it.

  22. Brother Rutherford,

    May I make a radical statement? Why do I need your permission?

    May I state for the record that Barack Obama should be criticized for about everything, but one thing I am going to cut him a huge amount of slack is this criticism of Obama NOT attending church?

    We all know Obama is a political opportunist and probably a statist. So I am actually impressed Obama chooses not to play games about attending a church for show.

    After all, 20 years of attending Rev. Wright’s Hitler impersonations most Sundays would make anybody a little hesitant to walk into the doors of a sanctuary. 😉

  23. Head Muscle is a good site…and a kudos to Brother Rutherford, the only sort of fair lib I know, for having it blog rolled.

    I need to make it over there more often…but I would have to behave better and I’ve become so accustomed to acting like a bull in a liberal china shop. 🙂

  24. After all, 20 years of attending Rev. Wright’s Hitler impersonations most Sundays would make anybody a little hesitant to walk into the doors of a sanctuary.

    Tex, have you ever listened to the Rev Wright’s entire message, or just the exerts? I listened to a couple of them from start to finish and the message was sound. I have heard the sound bites and they sure sound bad out of the context of a sermon. It’s kind of like the same situation you called foul about regarding Shirley Sherrod. I sure didn’t sense anything Nazi, maybe you have a reference.

  25. “I’m your mothers doctor. You’re worried about what to do in her final days. Let’s talk about it.” What is the big f*cking deal?

    Are you really that freaking dense?

    Unless the doc is saying that to Mom’s agent pursuant to a medical power of attorney, or Mom is there in the room and has specifically instructed Doc to talk to son/daughter/friend/significant other, than the Doc owes a duty of confidentiality that should not be so casually broken, and in the wake of the last HIPPA changes, they all know that.

    Tex is right. Living Wills (we call them Health Care Directives in Washingtonistan) answer any questions regarding Mom’s care, without making doctors come and try to convince Mom that she is a burden on society because according to the latest “Quality of Life” chart issued by Doc Eziekiel Emmanuel’s ghouls, that hip surgery would be too expensive, and she is just being a burden on society anyway.

  26. Poolman,

    I listened to a couple of them from start to finish and the message was sound. I have heard the sound bites and they sure sound bad out of the context of a sermon

    Yeah, like the sound part about AIDS being a disease whites created and introduced to the ghettos. Or maybe it’s the profound Jew hating coming out of Trinity you approve? Or maybe the race baiting of Hillary Clinton? Sound, real sound. Gawd damn America Poolman – you keep on appeasing.

    I always thought your lefty politics superseded your message…

    😉

  27. Old Shirley…old thieving Shirley making herself rich under the guise of racism? That Shirley? But I think it is you that needs to find a reference there Pool Cleaner.

    I don’ t believe I every used Nazi and Shirley the racist in the same post, did I?

  28. Your family situation demonstrates the need for the kinds of options for care that the ACA would attempt make available to everyone. But in ConservativeWorld, that’s a bad thing, because…. well, just because.

    But when insurance companies limit care based on cost, it’s only the good old “free enterprise” system at work – which of course is a good thing.

    I know – I can’t figure these guys out either. They must be nucking futz.

    Or maybe its because we oppose government taking the choice away from we who have made choices to make health care a priority under the guise of making health care available to all, only then to take choices away, and have the pro-take your choices away shills mumble about how stupid pointing this out is “because health insurance companies do it”, which is ignores the fact that my asociation with any insurance company is voluntary, but my participation with any government-approved health insurance plan will be manditory.

    The problem is that we conservatives have not been dropped on our heads enough to fully understand how taking choice away from those who make certain decisions a personal priority actually increases choice for everyone, but making sure that no one can have it.

  29. BIC–how do you get from advising someone about the options for end of life care to trying to persuade Mom that she should stop circling and head down the drain? Serious question–I am not being flip.

    What is Mom doesn’t have a health care directive? We don’t mandate her having one (thank goodness) but why, if she wants either herself or her family to know the choices, shouldn’t she be able to get that? And what if Mom had a stroke or other catastrophic event and the doctor can’t talk with Mom but needs to speak with one of the members of her family who are trying to figure out what to do? And why shouldn’t the doctor who provides that service to Mom or, in case Mom isn’t competent, her next of kin, be paid for it?

  30. ah–you had posted while I was typing that.

    OK–you have a large population of elderly and poor patients who are on Medicare/Medicaid. At least a fair percentage of them aren’t the type to have health care directives–because they’re probably the same people who don’t have wills or assets or who haven’t thought about it.

    Mom has cancer and the doctor talks to her about end of life choices such as paliative (sp?) care. Or Mom has had a stroke and can’t communicate and the doctor has to talk to her kids. Is the doctor unable to be paid for that consultation?

  31. BIC–how do you get from advising someone about the options for end of life care to trying to persuade Mom that she should stop circling and head down the drain? Serious question–I am not being flip.

    Why is it assumed that old folks don’t “Know what their options are” and need doctors to discuss the “options” with them?
    I’m not being flip when I ask the question. I see many older folks as part of my practice. Not all of them are coming to have their estate planning done as part of preparing for “someday”. I’d say that a third know that they are aflicted with something, be it cancer of some type, heart disease, alzheimers, parkinson’s or something equally unpleasant. Almost all of these people know what their “options” are. Some have filled out the health care directives making it clear that when they are in that persistant vegetative state, they do not want hydration or nutrition. Some have gone fast, some have gone slow, and some decided to remain in control until the end, and have eaten a bullet.

    However, with the “Complete Life System” advocated by Doc Zeke, much greater emphasis in care has been placed on those who are young, and still have much life to live and much opportunities to take, as opposed to the elderly who have already lived their lives. Couple this with a shortage of the $ necessary to provide care for all, and the unfortunate fact that oldsters generally cost more to adequately care for, and government that already is inclined to value life less than it should, and you will have the government pressuring docs to tell the oldsters to convince Mom, and Grandpa that it is their patriotic duty to seccumb, rather than continue to fight for life with the treatments that medical science currently provides.

    What is Mom doesn’t have a health care directive? We don’t mandate her having one (thank goodness) but why, if she wants either herself or her family to know the choices, shouldn’t she be able to get that?

    The short answer to that question is that if Mom wants to know the options, she can do her own research beforehand, and not put her kids in the awful position of having to decide what to do about Mom…if indeed the medical providers would allow them. If have seen first hand the kind of relief it has been for both parent and child to have the HCD that says “if I’m gone and not coming back…let me go.”

    And what if Mom had a stroke or other catastrophic event and the doctor can’t talk with Mom but needs to speak with one of the members of her family who are trying to figure out what to do?

    That will depend on several different things…what state law says, what the hospital or medical provider’s practices are, and who it is who is trying to get information, and make decisions.

    And why shouldn’t the doctor who provides that service to Mom or, in case Mom isn’t competent, her next of kin, be paid for it?

    As a practical matter, absent a document signed by Mom expressly giving you the authority to discuss those options with her doctor, I think you will find most doctors reluctant to do it. But I think you are also confusing the counseling that is being discussed.

    You seem to be asking about discussing what to do with Doc after something has “Happened” with Mom, and either she, or someone else if she is not able to discuss it, are talking about care options with Doc…that would be part and parcel of rendering care for a condition, and the Doc would bill for it with every expectation off getting paid.

    What Zeke wants is after a certain age, Mom and Doc speak annually about her quality of life, and her end of life care…so if she is feeling like a burden to her kids, and she is suffering from a laundry list of ailments, maybe it is better to “modify” her treatment, and fade away quietly rather than becoming a bigger burden with each passing year.

  32. OK–you have a large population of elderly and poor patients who are on Medicare/Medicaid. At least a fair percentage of them aren’t the type to have health care directives–because they’re probably the same people who don’t have wills or assets or who haven’t thought about it.

    Again, I think you are making some assumptions here.

    While there are a lot of people who don’t really have much in the way of assets, or don’t have estates large enough to trigger estate tax issues, many of them will still excute wills because they want to control how their estates will be distributed. Between helpful government publications and targeted marketing by private parties like Medicare Gap Insurance carriers, people of a certain age are bombarded with messages about the importance of creating a will, and powers of attorney/health care directives. ( or trusts created by trust mills).

    If Mom is able to talk when she is hospitalized for this condition or that condition, she is likely to be given Do Not Resesitate/HCD and Power of Attorney Documents to fill out on admission.

  33. Let us reminisce.

    Back two years ago, Der Spiegel was declaring that Barack Obama would bring universal peace by conversing with despots, have the most transparent cabinet ever, close GITMO, end “torture”, get out of the “unnecessary” war, and lead the U.S. to a path of economic prosperity like none other. That the dumb cowboy and war monger Bush was out – the “end of an error” I recall was the popular cliche.

    My, my – how times have changed in a short 24 months. Europe is as stupid and as big a failure as American Progressives. And I do mean stupid. And you clowns thought that we would forget.

    Dedicated to Edsel Obama.

    http://www.spiegel.de/international/world/0,1518,736320,00.html

  34. First you unfairly slam me for breaking the peace, and now you’re accusing me of rhetoric.

    When did I unfairly slam you for breaking the peace? That comment, although not attributed to anyone specifically, was actually aimed at Gorilla. The rhetoric comment was aimed at you because, like most of us here (including me), it’s more fun for you to throw grenades than give objective data based on your expertise. Hence, the rhetoric comment.

    I in no way feel like it is the doctor’s right or responsibility to decide when to terminate a life.

    I completely agree with you.

    The fact is not everyone has a living will. I would guess most don’t. Heck, I’m embarrassed to admit my wife and I don’t. Despite my urging him, my father still doesn’t have any kind of documentation about care wishes, or even asset allocation. And contrary to BiW’s opinion, I don’t think a whole lot of people know their options and even those who do have 2nd thoughts.

    I will never forget as long as I live, sitting at my mother-in-law’s bedside as my father-in-law tried to get her to sign the DNR paperwork. When she was cogent, she had told him “I don’t want extraordinary measures taken”. Near death, and not fully there, she said to my father-in-law, and I quote: “I didn’t think it would come to this.” Now that may sound silly to you folks. Everyone knows they’re gonna die sooner or later but her thoughts close to death were very different from when it was a distant certainty.

    Bottom line, people need to talk this stuff through with professionals and Medicare has no business denying payments for such discussions.

  35. I didn’t read through all the Der Spiegel nonsense since I can tell right off the bat, they’re missing the “smaller picture”. They’re focused on international issues like START. The fact is the lame duck session was a phenomenal success for Obama, with START, the tax compromise, DADT repeal, 9/11 medical funding. His only real loss was the Dream Act. This lame duck session was more than anyone could have hoped for. Certainly more than I predicted here just a couple of weeks ago.

    Does this mean the 112th Congress is going to be a smash success for Obama? Certainly not. Time will tell.

  36. The fact is not everyone has a living will. I would guess most don’t.

    I think you would be guessing wrong.

    Heck, I’m embarrassed to admit my wife and I don’t.

    And as a professional, I will *tsk tsk* you and wag my finger. You have a small child. You should have a will at a minimum and all the documents if you’re doing it right. Quit f***ing around and get that taken care of, hoss.

    Despite my urging him, my father still doesn’t have any kind of documentation about care wishes, or even asset allocation.

    I feel your pain there. Despite me pointing out to my late father that Michigan had a statutory will format that allowed him basically fill in the blanks and have it witnessed by two people, he didn’t do it. However, “asset allocation” is not something for Docs to advise on, and anyone seeking financial advice from a Doc should also ask to have their head surgically removed from their ass. They are lousy with money. And if you must talk to your Doctor about care management, your time is better served asking them if they will actually honor your written directives, as some docs refuse to with hold “heroic” measures even when the wrtitten directives very clearly tell them to do so.

    And contrary to BiW’s opinion, I don’t think a whole lot of people know their options and even those who do have 2nd thoughts.

    You can think whatever you like. I see it in practice, and as far as living wills go, the Terry Schiavo debacle was a boon to the practice. Our phones rang off the hook for a while.

  37. Yeah it’s real easy to pass stuff when the people passing it have already been voted out of office….

    But, but, but HUCK!

    Its courageous to vote to pass everything that the American Electorate rejected in the last election! Afterall, they’re just too damn stupid to know what is good for them. Just ask the FCC, which is going to regulate what Congress and the Courts have already told them they have no authority to regulate!

  38. I didn’t read through all the Der Spiegel nonsense since I can tell right off the bat, they’re missing the “smaller picture”.

    With Edsel, real small. 😆

    You keep convincing yourself of Edsel’s smashing success, and we’ll keep voting more of you out of office where you can brag about your smashing successes.

    P.S. – I was giving you a hard time about the rhetoric. Since when did lack of manners or going off topic with respect to subject material stop me? 🙂

    Happy Holidays “R”. Hope you’re daughter had a blast with the new Wii. My kids sure enjoyed their unit for about two weeks – then the late Sammy got in one night through an open door and dragged about half of it to the backyard, where he a little Wii for early morning snack.

    He got a good time out and a free ride across the backyard for that stunt. Man, I miss him still.

  39. Mmmm I was just reminded of a quote that makes all you guys complaining about eliteism, full of crap.

    George W. Bush: “Some folks call you the elite. I call you my base.”

    Yeah the President for the working guy. LOL the GOP doesn’t care about you but you’ll keep pulling the lever so long as they make you feel victimized by minorities. You can cut the irony with a knife. 😀

  40. Spin that Edsel success. Spin baby,Spin! A lot of repair work to do. Nobody’s buying it, though.

    So the year ends with the media pushing the notion that Barack Obama — having had one of the worst years in presidential history — has salvaged both his presidency and his re-election chances with his stunning “comeback” in the dwindling hours of the lame-duck session.

    Don’t believe a word of it.

    http://www.nypost.com/p/news/opinion/opedcolumnists/his_own_worst_enemy_V7lEwGkZifwZ23sglA4ApO

  41. Ex-Shell president sees $5 gas in 2012

    Who knew that President “Bo-rock Yo Mama” was an oil man too? Time for idiot Congress critter Maxine ‘Foul’ Waters to call for tribalizing, socializing, categorizing whatever the oilz industry here in America.

    Karma baby, Karma.

    And in the spirit of the season, I couldn’t help be amused at a bunch of whining north easterner types this morning complaining their streets hadn’t been plowed. Waaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh…..

    Grab a shovel and pulll that lever for Mayor Iceberg, I mean Bloomberg again. That’s what you get for voting for President Comeback Yo Mama.

    Karma baby, karma.

  42. Nothing could be more irresponsible than quitting a job in this economy with nothing else lined up, that is unless your current job truly has you miserable and you have no family obligations.

    The article made me sick.

  43. After hearing “ni*ga” for the 15th time I finally stopped the video. Nothing edifying here …. not even funny. Rap for the most part sucks. Bad rap sucks worse.

    Not your best work Tigre.

  44. Tigre,

    The funniest part of the song was the title: “Baracka Flacka Flame.” 😆

    And the most insidious part of it is that hundreds of thousands of morons think this is real talent and are willing to pay exorbitant fees to listen to this junk. And we wonder how Obama got elected?

    Rutherford, you really do need to separate yourself from these yoyos. For crying out loud “dude.” You listen to Green Day and Motown. Now that is good music! Do you want to be affiliated with these losers? Assuming they voted, you know they weren’t pulling the Bush lever. What’s that tell you?

    And don’t give me that lip. 🙂

  45. Mayor Iceberg’s finest strike again. And remember, this is prime Obama country – overwhelmingly Obama country. Let’s let them run health care!

  46. Tex, what you said makes absolutely no sense. Barack Obama has NOTHING to do with ignorant rap music. The notion that people who listen to ignorant rap music voted for him means absolutely nothing. Folks who listen to classical music also voted for him (all those “elites” you hate so much).

    The video was a tasteless attempt to reduce Obama to a nonsense stereotype. I think it’s given many a racist’s stomach agita that Obama’s most ghetto moment so far was greeting GOP clown Michael Steele with “Wassup!”

    The truth is, Obama is probably “whiter” than you. ROTFLMAO 😆

  47. The truth is, Obama is probably “whiter” than you. ROTFLMAO

    “R”, you’re probably whiter than I am. Whatever “being whiter” is supposed to mean. 🙂 Hell, I told you if you are what you eat, I’m as soul as it gets – I love fried chicken, mustard greens, and especially watermelon. 🙂

    That video was an abomination of ignorance, as are the people who mouthed and wrote the words. How could you tell if it was pro or con Obama? The only two words I could understand were ‘f’ and ‘n’. I couldn’t get past the fact of how talentless this rap crap is, and that there is actually an audience for that stupidity.

    Add to the fact the two most talented hip hop/rap artists I’ve ever heard are white, perhaps because their the only ones I can understand the words, my blog of choice liberal and black, and Obama drinks Dom Pérignon while I prefer cheap beer, this is one integrated and screwed up world Brother “R”. 😈 More proof you need to be voting like me!

  48. Obama’s ghetto moment was when he veered away from his prime time speech on his shitty health care to address the local 5-0 who was fuckin wit his boy.

    That was unbelievable. Next thing we know, he’s having this laughable “beer summit” at the exact moment he failed to convince America that the shitty Obama care isn’t shitty.

  49. Obama’s ghetto moment is coddling Michael “Thug” Vick. We’re supposed to feel sorry for a dog mauling, multi-millionaire punk? Obama probably fights his dog down in the basement.

    I understand the schmuck won’t even clean up after the pooch either. The poor thing would starve to death without the two cute daughters…

    What happened to the SPCA mutt Obama was going to adopt “R”? You mean Obama is so uppity, he has to get his dogs from the Kennedy Klan? Another broken campaign promise. 😉

  50. http://pajamasmedia.com/victordavishanson/did-all-that-happen/

    The incomparable VDH on the Absurdities of the American Left:

    5. How did Barack Obama invent himself into a bi-partisan, working across the aisle, no more red state/blue state unifying figure? Mellifluous rhetoric and a partisan myth helped to promulgate that myth, I grant. But still, how did the U.S senator with the most partisan voting record in the Senate (to the left of the socialist Bernie Sanders from Vermont) and a devout attendee of one of the most divisive and racist preachers imaginable refashion himself so successfully? Was it the simple declarations — as in something like “I say I am bipartisan, therefore I am bipartisan”? Did all forget that our pre-mid-term election president evoked phrases such as “enemies,” “sit in the back of the car,” and “hand to hand”?

    No matter — as soon as Obama was “shellacked” with a 63 seat loss in the House, and his polls hit 42 percent approval, he dropped all the prior rhetoric about “I won and you lost” or “elections matter”—and now announced to his “enemies” that he could “work together” to get things done. Had Obama increased the House Democratic majority by 30 more seats in November, would he now be praising the virtues of bipartisanship? Had the vanity of Rev Wright not convinced the huckster preacher to hawk his Trinity racist rants on incriminating DVDs, would he now be a frequent “healing” presence at the White House?

    Lurking somewhere behind all these improbables is a rather small Western elite that is enormously influential in the media, government, the arts, universities, and Hollywood. And what it would like to believe, often simply must be believed — and so it usually is.

  51. R says: “Not your best work Tigre.”

    It ain’t my work Rutherford. It’s a crass, stupid parody of a hardcore rap tune done by some dip-shit from Atlanta, a shit-rap mecca.

    Sorry you were so offended. Truth is it would still be an idiotic video if it weren’t a parody. What’s interesting is the source and the target. It’s receiving a lot of chatter in my neck of the woods.

    Oh well, much like your “Obama is probably whiter than you” comment, the point is lost. But since I do aim to amuse, I’ll try to be more selective next time!

    Is Alice Cooper fair game?

  52. Yeah, industry would NEVER leave the building due to a 35% Federal tax bite in addition to all the other chunks taken by states and localities, when other countries who are getting the industry wouldn’t dream of a corporate income tax that high…Nahhhhh. That wouldn’t be it at all.

  53. Yeah, industry would NEVER leave the building due to a 35% Federal tax bite in addition to all the other chunks taken by states and localities, when other countries who are getting the industry wouldn’t dream of a corporate income tax that high…Nahhhhh. That wouldn’t be it at all.

    Of all people, you would think a small business owner like Poolman would understand how egregious corporate taxes are. Goes to prove just how confused so called progressives really are.

    Corporate taxes second highest and twice the industrialized world average are bad enough. Throw in workman’s comp, FICA of about 13% more, state, county, city, and various other fees, services, and ecological penalties, and I am frankly surprised anybody does business in America.

    If Poolman wants to pocket about 40 cents on the dollar, power to him. Most shrewd business aren’t going to tolerate it and will move elsewhere.

  54. Poolman wants the government that attacked its own people on 9/11 via a diabolical conspiracy to grow richer and more powerful.

  55. I know why you can’t grasp the truth. As I have previously said, capitalism has run its course. Obesa cantavit. The bankers are going to have to figure out another way to keep lining their pockets and pimpin’ their peeps. The middle class is done in this country. But I’m sure some of you can wring a little more profit out of it before it totally seizes.

  56. Some of us were smart enough to know a pool a bad, bad, bad investment. And I live in the sunbelt.

    Where do you get these sources Poolman? 😆 Yale University, hey? Conservatives can’t handle the truth.

    Like global warming…something about the science being settled.

  57. Poolman, let me give you a perfect example of cognitive dissonance…first comment of your link. Typical lib response. Read closely:

    I think the labels of “conservative” and “liberal” may be a little too broad. Certainly, many so-called conservatives are reactionaries. Even so, it explains why there are so few talk radio shows aimed at liberals: most can think for themselves

    Is that why felon George Soros pumped millions of dollars in failed Air America? Because liberals can think for themselves and don’t need a media of talk radio? That why liberals are obsessed and fixated about Rush Limbaugh?

    The way liberals are able to lie to themselves continues to boggle the mind.

  58. Limbaugh has a difficult time with truth and facts. That is why progressives and liberals have a hard time with him. From a conservative source:

    http://www.politifact.com/personalities/rush-limbaugh/

    I know you always cite George Soros as this huge liberal money influence, and though I am not a fan of his, he plays both sides. As a matter of fact I think the whole political persuasion bit is bogus and just keeps our eyes off the true power people in our world. You just keep thinking that voting and political persuasion has significance and go ahead and cheer your team. We are still heading to hell in a handbasket. Republicans just speed up the ride is all.

  59. “We are ruled by parasites. We are ruled by people who not only don’t work but expect us to work for them. This is totally irresponsible on our part. And we have been carefully trained to be irresponsible because responsibility is the key to power. We can gain total power over our lives but not without accepting full responsibility for everything.”

    The dollar was strong and worth something until 1913, when the Warburgs seized control of our currency on behalf of the Rothschild Group.

  60. I know you always cite George Soros as this huge liberal money influence, and though I am not a fan of his, he plays both sides.

    Poolman, plays both sides my ass. Soros himself admitted for the last eight years he’s done everything in his power to get progressives elected and get rid of George Bush, and just before the election said “his money” couldn’t save Obama this time.

    Politifact? 😆 They’ve been caught in so many biased lies, they’ve become a running joke. Politifact is a front group for the Dimocratic party.

    Trust me Poolman – a statist like you would give your right nut to find the equivalent of a liberal Rush Limbaugh. The real truth is the left has a huge dearth of talent. Obama caught the perfect storm of an election, and has since done nothing but demonstrate how incredibly incompetent he is – from Afghanistan to zygotes.

    An empty shell of a forked tongue snake, paid for and bought by George Soros, Warren Buffett, Peter Lewis, and Hollywood – with a multitude of European socialist money. Audacity of a Dope.

  61. “I call it treason against rock ‘n’ roll because rock is the antithesis of politics. Rock should never be in bed with politics.” – A. Cooper

    On second thought, you might be on to something with Alice. . .

    http://www.wnd.com/?pageId=26239

    (as though his appearance on the muppets wasn’t enough)

  62. I’m not overly surprised to find out Alice is a Republican. He’s always been corporate and proud of it.

    And he comes close to making a good point. Rock ‘n’ Roll should be independently political, not endorsing any mainstream movement but rather being a source of protest/rebellion.

  63. plays both sides my ass.

    http://www.theoccidentalobserver.net/2010/11/soros-courts-the-neocons/

    As reported in the Salon, George Soros has paid $150,000 to Randy Scheunemann, a neocon foreign policy figure. Scheunemann was McCain’s foreign policy adviser during the 2008 campaign and is now a top aide of Sarah Palin.

    The politifact site is from the ST. Petersburg times in FLA, definitely rw and the lies of Limbaugh are certainly also noted elsewhere, whether you approve of this site as source or not.. AFA a “liberal” voice equal to Limbaugh, maybe none exist, though Jon Stewart probably comes close in popularity. Stewart however does not claim to be a serious force in the movement and is often critical of both the left and the right, whereas Limbaugh generally doesn’t admit fault or falseness.

What's on your mind?

