There is Always Hope

About this time last year, I posted an article about a song that I found very moving. Today I am just posting the lyrics to the song, based on a Longfellow poem. Even though the song mentions God, I believe regardless of religious persuasion the listener can find a message that resonates.

No matter how bad things seem to be, there is always tomorrow and always the opportunity for good to defeat evil. No matter what damage is done, evil cannot destroy hope for a better tomorrow.

I Heard The Bells on Christmas Day

I heard the bells on Christmas day
Their old familiar carols play
And mild and sweet their songs repeat
Of peace on earth good will to men

And the bells are ringing
Like a choir they’re singing
In my heart I hear them
Peace on earth, good will to men

And in despair I bowed my head
There is no peace on earth I said
For hate is strong and mocks the song
Of peace on earth, good will to men

But the bells are ringing
Like a choir singing
Does anybody hear them?
Peace on earth, good will to men

Then rang the bells more loud and deep
God is not dead, nor doth He sleep
The wrong shall fail, the right prevail
With peace on earth, good will to men

Then ringing singing on its way
The world revolved from night to day
A voice, a chime, a chant sublime
Of peace on earth, good will to men

And the bells they’re ringing
Like a choir they’re singing
And with our hearts we’ll hear them
Peace on earth, good will to men

Do you hear the bells they’re ringing?
The life the angels singing
Open up your heart and hear them
Peace on earth, good will to men

Peace on earth, Peace on earth
Peace on earth, Good will to men

Respectfully,
Rutherford

WordPress.com Political Blogger Alliance

6 thoughts on “There is Always Hope

  1. My friends and family, all of whom live adjacent to Detroit Metro Airport, almost got a special gift of a flaming air bus raining down on them.

  2. I saw that D.R. And I noted that on this special day, our terrorist failed.

    For that, I am happy too.

    Hope your pretty son had a special first Christmas. If anyone is interested and hasn’t seen the movie, may I highly recommend The Nativity – only a couple of years old. I saw it in the movie theater and watched it again tonight. I believe it does a beautiful job of conveying very close to how it happened – nothing sugary sweet, the struggle of Mary and Joseph even carrying God in flesh, the excellent casting of the wise men, and he evil of Herod.

    I think what I liked best is the reality of the common man – there are no lilly white, blue eyed spectacles in this this. All are either Jewish, with one wise man probably Ethiopian.

    Good will to all tonight…see you tomorrow.

  3. Tex, I agree. I thought the Nativity was excellent.

    The little one is a lucky guy. He has people fawning over him at all times. My main concern is that the kid might end up spoiled around the holidays. His aunt alone bought him 6 gifts.

    I told my wife today that if I ever see him even once take these gifts for granted or not show thanks Bronson and the Rabbit will be driving to our church and donating everything.

  4. Man, I thought the baby was going on 5 months. He’s only going on 4 months! (Yeah, I know, what the hell is wrong with me).

    I also produced some frowns when I told the extended in-laws that I have “baby sitting” duties next week while my wife works. They quickly tried to make me feel like shit and point out that it’s “fatherly duties”.

    I’m proud of the youngin’. He can hang at these family functions for hours at a time giving people what they want to see: babbles, smiles, etc.

    I think he really is progressing along.

What's on your mind?

