Obama Video Address: April 25, 2009

This week President Obama discusses his plans for government reform. In the background of course is the quagmire his administration finds itself in as it wrestles with what to do about new revelations of our torture program under the Bush administration. Maybe I’m influenced by comments I saw posted on YouTube but I can see the stress on Obama’s face. He wants to focus on the economy and our two wars and he doesn’t need the distraction of prior administration shenanigans. Unfortunately, this is a genie that even Obama with all his persuasive talents will not be able to put back in the bottle.

And now the President of the United States of America:

Respectfully,
Rutherford

WordPress.com Political Blogger Alliance

31 thoughts on “Obama Video Address: April 25, 2009

  1. This sounded to much like a campaign video to me.
    YOU ARE PRESIDENT OBAMA!
    He talks about spending wisely yet he admitted that the stimulus package had earmarks.

    Maybe he has seen the error of his ways.
    If so, I better not see any more obvious earmarks on what he does.

  2. Rutherford, Tex…..I found out today I could be jobless myself soon.

    Michigan is a sinking ship. We’re going to be the Oakies of this Depression.

  3. Joel, you raise an interesting point. I’m not sure the “campaign” is over. I think he has gone from campaigning for President to campaigning for the hearts, minds and souls of the American people.

    Where George Bush was “the decider”, I think Barack Obama will be “the persuader”.

  4. Rabbit, do I understand correctly that you teach in Michigan’s public school system? I haven’t read of public education cuts but of course I know GM’s death throes will have ripple effects on everything in Michigan.

    I know you don’t want to hear this but perhaps Michigan will use some of Obama’s stimulus money to save teacher’s jobs?

    Since you see trouble on the horizon, please do what I did not do. Start figuring out your Plan B now. My only excuse was that my layoff came like a bolt out of the blue. I had no idea it was coming. Had I believed my job was in danger, I would have started looking right away before I got the axe.

    Hey if you get canned, maybe you, Tex, Rigorist and I should start our own hybrid of HuffPo and Drudge Report and make some money at this stuff? 🙂

    P.S. Hang in there.

  5. Michigan is a sinking ship. We’re going to be the Oakies of this Depression

    I’m sorry to hear about that D.R. Don’t buy trouble until something really happens. However, Rutherford is right – be thinking about what you would do. Never hurts to be prepared.

    If something does happen, move down here with us “Okies”. You might have to take a cut in pay, but if you’re a teacher you would certainly find employment, and the cost of living is much cheaper, so you don’t have to make as much. I think you would like it.

    If you really ever do give thought to moving South, you have got my email address. Let me know what you might be looking for and I’ll see what I can do to help.

    Hang in there friend. This too shall pass.

  6. Thanks for the support fellahs.

    R, It’s not a matter of funding. It’s a matter of a dwindling population. The Detroit Metro Area is at 14% unemployment right now. That’s before the massive cuts slated for this summer. Before! People are leaving in droves. Even from cushy suburbs like the one I work in.

  7. These press conferences are so contrived and staged to be almost worthless. There is nothing of substance and I listened closely tonight.

    These press conferences are more staged than the 2008 Chinese Summer Olympics. I’m surprised they don’t include photoshop pictures someplace.

    “R”, you’re man looks good, smiles good, and with the assistance of the teleprompter, sounds good on those occasions of prepared speech, as long as the prompter is synchronized.

    But I am becoming less and less impressed with Obama’s real talents. This is about as superficial and narcissistic as a Hollywood gala my friend – and every bit as empty.

    ——————-

    D.R. – I read that article. Nice to see somebody is still reporting the truth, because I see it so infrequently anymore. Good job on the reporting!

  8. Ahhh, my deluded friends, DR and Tex.

    For starters, we’re going to put the deficit on Obama for two years of Dem controlled Congress? What happened to the previous six? It’s a weak argument.

    The article’s expert on the cost of prevention is the New England Journal of Medicine? That’s laughable and you guys who like to “keep it real” ought to know that. It is in the best interest of the medical community, the pharmaceuticals, and the insurance companies to keep people sick. The bias here is way too obvious for me to take their opinion of savings through prevention seriously.

    And, as usual Tex, you and I watched two different press conferences.I saw a man with an incredible grasp of what is going on right now. A man, who despite all the “uhs” and “mmms” was still able to think on his feet. Sorry guys but George W simply did not instill confidence from behind the podium. He did not look smart … Obama does. Case closed.

    Think about this, with the media drumming up hysteria over the swine flu, our gov’t with Obama as head spokesman is calling for calm, deliberate, scientific handling of the crisis. Obama is a reassuring force in an otherwise chaotic world. It’s one of his most important jobs and he does it splendidly. You may call it Hollywood, but I call it leadership.

    By the way, what’s your take on Arlen Specter? While his move was a politically calculated one, not one of principle, it is still evidence that the Republican party is becoming so fringe that its own members are jumping ship.

    You guys need a new party so bad it ain’t funny … even to a liberal.

  9. And, as usual Tex, you and I watched two different press conferences.I saw a man with an incredible grasp of what is going on right now. A man, who despite all the “uhs” and “mmms” was still able to think on his feet. Sorry guys but George W simply did not instill confidence from behind the podium. He did not look smart … Obama does. Case closed.

    Ah, my demented friend “R”. We do see two different men. I see a narcissistic weakling, one who I believe superficial at best, with very thin skin, unable to handle the least amount of criticism and requiring constant adulation. Obama operates as a staged event without a clue of reality. One who would sell out his own country if that meant he was loved. I think you see through the prism of “he’s one of mine” and your vantage point biased because of your own personal bigotry. Case closed? Hardly…in fact, yet to written.

    Think about this, with the media drumming up hysteria over the swine flu, our gov’t with Obama as head spokesman is calling for calm, deliberate, scientific handling of the crisis.

    Then I assume you will be giving credit where credit is due about the Bush Adm. having 50MM dosages of TamiFlu ready and available? The media may be drumming up hysteria, but where I’m from we certainly aren’t in hysterics. We need no vote of confidence about a simple case of a different serotype of flu. In fact, it is somewhat the joke around these parts. My advice to you scared Democrats? Wash your hands and keep your fingers out of your nose.

    By the way, what’s your take on Arlen Specter? While his move was a politically calculated one, not one of principle, it is still evidence that the Republican party is becoming so fringe that its own members are jumping ship.

    Much adieu about nothing. Specter is a political opportunist and little more. The fact that he changed was in name only. I say good riddance. It’s the moderate, northeastern wing of the Republican party that is finally dead and long overdue. Now we can get down to deciding which party of ideas is really right and remove the fence straddlers that have held us back.

    As far as the Republican party being dead? Maybe? But the conservative movement surely isn’t. History repeating itself Rutherford. Your ilk said the same in 1964, 1976, and 1992. It was history. It was over with. Americans need the occasional reminder of just how poorly the empty messages and broken promises of liberalism really are and they are about to get it.

    Either way, I won’t lose. But you may not like the solution either.

  10. Good news! Now take the opportunity to situate the resume, just in case.

    If there’s anything “R” and “TEX” agree on, it’s a great idea to have a contingency in place for possibly ‘redeployment’ elsewhere.

    P.S. – How’s your wife doing?

  11. I think you see through the prism of “he’s one of mine”

    Total poppy cock. You have created a profile of Obama unsupported by the facts. In fact, you have created some creature out of a TV movie. I don’t think Obama is the messiah. I do believe him fallible. But I see his strengths and they are formidable.

    Then I assume you will be giving credit where credit is due about the Bush Adm. having 50MM dosages of TamiFlu ready and available?

    If you paid attention to the press conference, Obama himself gave that credit to Bush.

    Much adieu about nothing.

    –pedantic-prick-on–
    While I appreciate you’re inserting a little French into your comments, I believe the phrase, “much ado about nothing”, was most famously used by Shakespeare and has nothing to do with saying goodbye — adieu.
    –pedantic-prick-off–

    🙂

  12. Ain’t cushy jobs fantastic? Seriously, good for you. One less thing to worry about with a kid on the way. Tex is right … still contemplate a Plan B. My wife was just informed that she very well may not have a job within 12 months. I’m already pushing her to prepare for the worst.

  13. DR, what a party-pooper you are! What 8 year old girl wouldn’t trade her innocent childhood for life with super rich sugar-daddy? And hey, you didn’t read the fine print … he can’t have fun with her until she hits puberty.

    Think about this (a point I just heard on TV this evening): We piss and moan about Cuba and how we won’t be friends with them but we’re best buddies with a screwed-up society like Saudi Arabia. Let’s shoot a few thousand gallons of oil under the island of Cuba and see how fast our foreign policy changes.

    Cyndi Lauper had it right when she sang “Money Changes Everything”.

  14. Believe it or not, I’m not passionately supportive of our policy with Cuba. At the very least, if one considers China, its kind of hard to explain.

    On the one hand i feel for all the people who have had their stuff and liberty stolen by Castro. On the other, I almost think flooding the Cuban market with pop Americana might have done some good.

    Obviously the 1960’s was a different ball game.

    Damn….I’ll come clean. I’m sick of going to Windsor, Canada and suit casing Cubans in my poop shoot across the Ambassador Bridge.

    You liberals always make snarky comments about oil dictating policy. Of course oil can dictate foreign policy to a certain extent. Hell, Hitler fought the Battle of Stalingrad and Japan attacked the sleeping giant over black gold.

    Just a fact of life dude. We need a lot of oil to heat that big ass 3000 square foot monstrosity of a building you call home.

    Ok, so I don’t “suit case” them. but still….

  15. I came in to see how Dear Rabbit’s wife feeling and he’s going off on all kinds of tangents, from the poop chutes to Cuba.

    Hate to hear that “R” about your wife. Really. I assume she’s probably carrying the health insurance? You need to get your sorry rear down south with me, and while you’ll feel like a duck out of water, you would be employable. Hell, most companies around here wouldn’t know what to do with a Hawvard grad, and would hire you for the diploma alone.

    I swear, after technically being a ‘millionaire’ because the exorbitant rise in 401K’s for so long, and being that I didn’t come from much to begin with, I have always felt ‘rich’ most of my adult life, though I probably never really was. Of course, those days are gone, but I never did find it made me any happier than when I came out of college with less than $100 to my name and lived in damn near Section 8 housing with plastic furniture in my early 20s.

    As it is, I feel like all but a handful of us are about one step from the poorhouse anymore. My biggest concern is getting my two beauties into adulthood and prepared for the inevitable bill of big Gov. 😮

  16. All Barack Obama has ever done in his political career is campaign for the next election, and that is all he is doing now.

    The real bitch for us is that he can no longer vote “present” while he’s doing it.

  17. “For starters, we’re going to put the deficit on Obama for two years of Dem controlled Congress? What happened to the previous six? It’s a weak argument.”

    You are aware that congress controls the federal purse, right? Spending bills originate in congress. And congress must approve all presidential budgets.

    If 2 years isn’t enough, at what point do Democrats take responsibility for things?

    “He did not look smart … Obama does. Case closed.”

    Looks can be decieving.

    But seriously… I have every confidence that Barack Obama is extremely intelligent. But intellect isn’t his problem. Lack of experience is. The man is out of his depth in so many areas it is sickening.

    “Think about this, with the media drumming up hysteria over the swine flu, our gov’t with Obama as head spokesman is calling for calm, deliberate, scientific handling of the crisis. Obama is a reassuring force in an otherwise chaotic world. It’s one of his most important jobs and he does it splendidly. You may call it Hollywood, but I call it leadership.”

    So what wouold you call the comments of our esteemed Vice President?

    “By the way, what’s your take on Arlen Specter? ”

    Good riddance? Big deal?

  18. I didn’t even see that R’s wife might get layed off now. Damn, we need to get this this economy booming.

    Tex, my wife is doing great. She is had a garage sale yesterday, getting rid of the 20 something chick crap (ten million fuax purses, shoe setc.) and we’re buying baby stuff.

    Labor Day 09 will be pretty literal in the Rabbit household.

    By the way, did I tell you guys its going to be a boy!!!!!!

  19. “R”,

    I think if Obama were white, you wouldn’t be so terribly blown away with him, because there has been nothing original or demonstrating great substance since the inauguration. It appears you’ve conveniently lowered the bar of expectations, like a fan of the mediocre team promising future results.

    Obama definitely loves to hear himself talk – but only in the staged manner. Off the cuff, he is little better than George Bush with the umms and the ahhhs…the deep breath giving the appearance of deep thinking, succeeded by some inane response, usually not relevant to the question at hand. The Freedom of Choice question the other night was smoke and mirrors, a filibuster of an answer, without answering the question. That’s not confidence – that’s bogus gamesmanship.

    And to add a little fuel to the blog fire, I’ll bet I could remove the idiot Janeane Garofalo from her seat on Keith Overbite show, place you in the guest position, push hard enough, and we would hear something not too awfully different than what the idiot lib said. No doubt you were taken with her message. I’m betting every disagreement Big O receives, you somehow think tainted by bigotry. That’s the prism “R”.

    The tone of your messages get more fawning, yet your retorts more hostile when confronted. I could up the ante in the rhetoric, but have determined you’re more bothered by straight fact with the microscope focused on critical result.

    Obama’s an eloquent speaker reading from a map and not much more, as far as I’m concerned. Where is this great insight, and originality, and intellect you are continually bragging about? It’s more of a cult following and rock star status – it’s Hollywood glib. Jim Jones can make that claim; that fruit loop from that Heaven’s Gate group could make that claim; David Koresh can make that claim of the adoring following of lost sheep and underachieving deviants. How many political leaders can claim a cult of personality, yet later proven to be completely incompetent, or downright dangerous?

    I’m actually feeling pretty confident that Obama’s smirking personality is starting to grow quite thin with the independent type, and look forward to reminding you progressive humanists of his failures. I’ve had some fun doing so already and man, I had forgotten how easy it is to push the left’s buttons. Give me five minutes and they’re usually apoplectic.

    Big O’s important decisions that we can now measure have been mostly rotten; his cabinets picks a joke, his inability to fill positions almost inexcusable. It’s possible that his spending proposal now passed may have just jeopardized the future of your daughter, yet you give the appearance to being on top of the world. I think you’re putting on the happy face “R” and the initial thrill is starting to wane. You’ve got a lot invested in this and have become a little more thin-skinned I’ve noted. Maybe a little nervous.

    —————————–

    As far as the “adieu”, I submitted this as a joke, though I must admit ignorance of the Shakespearean origin. I’m sure sometime in my youth, I was exposed to the finer arts, but kind of like Obama, they didn’t do much for my curiosity or memory either. I give you this gotcha moment and will be more careful about my flippancy.

    However, adieu would have been appropriate in this regard: “Goodbye Arlen and don’t let the door hit you in the ass. You’ll make a great addition to a rudderless and feckless party.”

    P.S. – I don’t like this reply method. It’s too easy to miss a response. Your blog would flow far more smoothly by reverting back to the original sequential method IMO, for what it is worth.

    C’est la vie Rutherford. 😉

  20. OH MY LORD! Can the world handle a generational Dead Rabbit?

    Congratulations buddy. Trust me, it will be like nothing you will ever do – the highest of highs and the lowest of lows. But you wouldn’t pass the opportunity to do it again in a minute once you’re done and they head out the door.

  21. But intellect isn’t his problem. Lack of experience is. The man is out of his depth in so many areas it is sickening.

    Red Pill, wouldn’t you admit that precious few people are really prepared to be President? Arguably former Vice Presidents might have some real notion of what the job entails and even that did not help the likes of Millard Fillmore or Andrew Johnson. I don’t think you can point to too many major failures for Obama in his first 100 days. The Bay of Pigs occurred within Kennedy’s first 100 days. Has Obama had his own Bay of Pigs? No.

  22. As far as the “adieu”, I submitted this as a joke…

    Ah … adieu as in goodbye to Specter. Now I’m the one feeling stupid. In my fog, I thought the much adieu comment was with respect to Swine Flu (don’t ask me why … the brain misfires on occasion). Upon reading your explanation and rereading your original comment I must commend you on a clever pun that went right over “R”s head (oooo I’m referring to myself in the third person ala Rabbit …scary.)

    As for the threaded comments and replies, damn, why didn’t you say it sooner? I’m not a big fan of it myself. I only implemented it cos it was the latest greatest thing from WordPress and when I got no complaints I assumed it was going over well. Tex, could this be an age thing? We’re both in our late 40’s and we seem to be the only ones bothered by it. 😉

    As for Obama, I have one question for you. If I am so swayed by race, so deluded by this prism through which I see things, then how do you account for my thinking that Alan Keyes is more foolish than a horse’s ass? Clearly if my defense of Obama is simply my defense of a “brotha”, then wouldn’t I at least hide my contempt for my other brotha Mr. Keyes?

  23. Rabbit, a belated congrats on your “gender discovery”. For reasons unknown to me, Rigorist wanted to call you Bunny Boy. I think that name should be reserved for your little one and once he is old enough to comment on blogs, I fully expect to see Bunny Boy calling me a liberal butthead. 🙂

  24. “R”,

    As for Obama, I have one question for you. If I am so swayed by race, so deluded by this prism through which I see things, then how do you account for my thinking that Alan Keyes is more foolish than a horse’s ass? Clearly if my defense of Obama is simply my defense of a “brotha”, then wouldn’t I at least hide my contempt for my other brotha Mr. Keyes?

    Rambling response here.

    Great question – and one I’ve contemplated for sometime now. Because I believe ideology trumps race, and race trumps gender (Oprah), and with respect to the black vote, any black not conforming to a specific mindset is a sell out. I should note that I once cast a vote for Alan Keyes in a primary (foolish on my behalf but I didn’t recognize the loony tunes part at the time, as I liked Keyes’ ideas on the social issues).

    Because unlike whites who are pretty much split across the political spectrum, blacks certainly are not, and most blacks hold a special disdain for the “brothas” that don’t conform to the collective group think. If there is one specific group that has been more demonized with much media applause and without challenge than white Christians, it is blacks that haven’t bent to the victimization routine and would dare call themselves Conservative.

    Case in point, SCOTUS Clarence Thomas – one of my three favorite justices by the way, ranking just behind Scalia and even with Roberts. How many times have I heard him called Uncle Tom, or worse? Remember this line from the so-called ‘race expert’ Julianne Malveaux, “I hope his wife feeds him lots of eggs and butter and he dies early like many black men do, of heart disease….He is an absolutely reprehensible person.” Now how in hell would this dimwit know if Clarence Thomas was a reprehensible person? Here’s a man who came from nothing, raised by his grandparents, and got himself nominated to one of the most prestigious positions in all the land. How many people, much less a black man from the south, can make that boast?

    Rutherford, Thomas is a hell of a lot more like you and probably shares a fair more common heritage than some toad like Keith Olbermann. Does that bother you to any degree to see an educated black man dragged through the mud like that? It does me.

    P.S. – More than anything else, I think this proves not only most of the white media racists themselves, but hypocrites and phonies of the lowest order. Remember when I said I agreed with Eric Holder’s conclusions we were a nation of cowards about race, but for different reasons? Even as different politically as we are, you and I would have I believe an honest relationship, and if we watched our mouths, would probably be friends because I respect your abilities – not because you’re a black man, but an educated and talented person. After a time, I doubt I would notice the color of your skin.

    These white media types like Keith Olbermann you watch nightly? You’re the family pet, possibly adored but not equal, and something to be used as collateral when necessary as they’ll pander for your vote. They’ll take special care when around somebody like you, because you are smart enough to see through the baloney. They will assist you in a pinch, but it’s not because of some sincere respect of equality they have for you.

    I’m telling you the truth friend, and something I wish you would give consideration to. Blacks are making a huge mistake when they just simply give a vote to a candidate because they have a ‘D’ beside their name. It’s an allegiance that is undeserved. 😉

  25. Tex, wow lots to digest here

    Let’s start with Clarence Thomas. If you’ll forget Monica Lewinsky, I’ll forget Anita Hill. Now that we have that out of the way, Thomas is notorious for being one of the least curious judges on the bench. It has been said that he is one of the few judges who almost never asks questions of the attorneys who present to the court. In fact when asked which sitting justice he would have blocked, Obama cited Thomas for lack of intellectual rigor. In other words, the dude is too dumb to a Supreme Court Justice.

    In addition, Thomas is a very angry black man. Instead of taking pride in his accomplishments, he is bitter about graduating from Yale Law School because he felt that everyone assumed he was an affirmative action candidate. I saw a profile of him a few years ago where he basically admitted he put his Yale diploma in the basement and hasn’t looked at it in years. If I had to pick a black conservative to admire, it wouldn’t be Thomas.

    I have wanted quite badly to find a black conservative worth listening to. A few years ago I had a favorable impression of Michael Steele. He has turned out to be a horse’s ass. As I’ve mentioned before in this blog, I rather like John McWhorter but he knows better than to run for office.

    There is truth to what you say about black’s rejecting conservatives among their ranks and calling them Uncle Toms. Personally I love it when the Bill Cosby’s of the world take a more socially conservative approach with the black community but only so long as it is tempered with empathy and free of arrogance. It is just too easy for blacks who have “made it” through a combination of luck and skill to be judgmental of those who have not. Until you have walked in another man’s shoes you have to reserve judgment to some degree. (By the way, if you like Bill Cosby, you must check out Reverend Eugene Rivers. See if you can find him on YouTube or search for him on my blog where I’ve quoted him. Although we did not know each other, Rivers was in my graduating class. He is big on responsibility and very much against excuse making.)

    Finally, believe me Tex, I do not assume that some of Keith Olberman’s best friends are black. Maybe so, maybe not. I know there are a good number of liberal whites who have no black friends and would probably have an aneurysm if their daughter brought home a black fiance. With that said, I can only go by what comes out of their mouth and what little I know of their actions. Liberals tend to say stuff I agree with. Whether or not they’ll date my daughter one day is another matter and we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. (Heck, I don’t want to let her out of the house until she’s 35 anyway! 🙂 )

  26. In fact when asked which sitting justice he would have blocked, Obama cited Thomas for lack of intellectual rigor. In other words, the dude is too dumb to a Supreme Court Justice.

    Obama thinks Clarence Thomas lacks intellectual rigor? May I remind Obama, who I think of average intelligence (Austrian language?) with records sealed, that Clarence Thomas holds the same distinction in graduating from Ivy League schools that he does? That would be like me saying you lack intellectual rigor, even though we hold the same basic educational status. Your shills know Thomas is not dumb – they just don’t like his politics. The fact he is black and conservative makes it completely intolerable for them. As a black and educated man, that ought to offend you personally. You know first hand Thomas had to work like a dog to get where he did. There’s nobody on that bench that is dumb. I think that is why I hate liberalism. The absolute dishonest of it really turns my stomach…

    By the way. I happen to know of Anita Hill more than just the newspapers and the media spin. For a time, she actually taught at a school in my old home town. And I know a lot of people that know her well and taught with her. Let’s just say that where I’m from, and I can virtually guarantee you we know her better than you do “R”, her reputation was of a gold digger – and that was before Clarence Thomas was on the stand.

    They quietly moved Hill down to OU after the Thomas hearings and that was pretty much the end of that after they had used her, of course. Her reputation was tarnished after that, but the bastards that did it (and they were lilly white assholes) never suffered for it. Maybe you can answer me this – why did Hill follow Thomas to a job, not once, but twice after his supposed infractions?

    Michael Steele, J.C. Watts, that crowd – don’t impress me. More self-serving political hacks. But Clarence Thomas impresses me. And I think it is because he is his own man and will not conform to what others want him to be. I believe he is true to himself and I hold him in very high regard. The fact that he is a man of few words doesn’t bother me in the least – we need more listeners and deep thinkers, and yes I think him one. I heard him give a speech once at my college and he was brilliant that night, and everybody on campus thought so.

    Whether I agree with you or not, I have always thought and respected you as such as a man that first wanted the truth. I am not sure I believe that anymore and that disappoints me. Damn Rutherford, you are being used and you don’t even know it. I think you better than that.

    Yes, I like Bill Cosby. Funny, funny man. Have loved him for years.

What's on your mind?

