America Says Enough

President-elect Barack H. Obama

President-elect Barack H. Obama

The past eight years have been a long downward slide. We accepted torture as an acceptable war time behavior. We sat silent while “suspects” were detained without legal representation. We watched a political campaign that played on our differences, our fears, our prejudices. We sat helplessly as our economy crashed.

The prescription for what ailed us was hope. Would cynicism prevail?

Anyone who believes that slavery was simply the result of racial prejudice, does not understand history. Slavery was the key ingredient to this nation’s plantation based economy. This country’s disdain of black skin was to some extent due to its love of green paper.

So, how incredibly ironic that more than a century after the end of slavery, tonight this country resoundingly turned to a black man to fix our economy!

We also are turning to him to fix our self esteem. We have agreed to trade cynicism for hope. We have said enough to politics as usual. We have said enough to talking one way but walking another. We have said enough to divisiveness over foolish artificial differences.

We are the first western country to select a black man to lead us. We are now truly an example to the world. I can now look at my beautiful black daughter and tell her that she can be anything she wants to be, without exception, without caveat.

My emotions interfere with the cohesiveness of this post. I am truly overcome. I have always felt that this was the best country for a disabled black man to be born in. No where else could I have had the opportunities I have had here. Still, I am so doubly proud to be an American tonight.

After 100’s of years on the wrong road, we finally said enough.

Respectfully,
Rutherford

WordPress.com Political Blogger Alliance

21 thoughts on “America Says Enough

  1. My emotions interfere with the cohesiveness of this post.

    Not at all! This is one of the most lovely and eloquent posts I’ve read today.

    What a sweet victory for us all!

  2. Rutherford, thank you, yes–me too. I’ve gone through quite a bit of Kleenex over the last 48 hours. This truly feels like a dream… but it really has happened…

  3. I love you! Will you adopt me?! When I grow up I want to be just like you! You’re so funny!

    When are you going to start a new thread?! I can’t wait! I love you so much!

  4. It is hilarious to read this screed now. I’m glad Muff posted so I could follow her over and read this for myself. 😈

    Rutherford, I suppose you’re sorely disappointed. Barack Obama has not only proven grossly inept, but the state of the country is as low as it has been in my lifetime. And ironically, George Bush looks better than he ever did as President.

    Sucker…

    😆

  5. Ironically, I just went through an entire box of Kleenex reading this.

    I get very teary when I laugh so hard.

    “tonight this country resoundingly turned to a black man to fix our economy!” 😆 😆 😆

  6. “tonight this country resoundingly turned to a black man to fix our economy!”

    HAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA

    HA

  7. The past eight years have been a long downward slide.

    Yes. Yes, they have. And we haven’t seen the bottom yet.

  8. Cute updated comment Poolman, 8 years later.

    Reading this post still brings a tear to my eye. You will never understand what the election of Barack Obama meant to so many people.

    That his record is mediocre makes things bittersweet.

  9. You will never understand what the election of Barack Obama meant to so many people.

    Not true. I was one of the ones that voted him in with hope that at least half of what he so eloquently promised would become true. That, combined with the fact that I cannot stomach mccain. Hope was quickly dashed and totally extinguished before the end of obama’s first term. I quit listening to and making excuses and began to see things for what they were. For that I give him credit.

  10. R, you will never know what the election of Barak Obama meant to so many others. If you did, you you wouldn’t have voted for him twice and spent your days twisting yourself into pretzel trying to fefend failure on display. But looking at how you’ve faired on ever level, fed and state, I say “thank you.”

What's on your mind?

