Sarah Palin’s Reverend Wright is … ehhh … Sarah Palin?

After all the hoopla over Barack Obama’s association with Reverend Jeremiah Wright, no one has produced any video of Obama himself “preaching”. The same cannot be said for Governor Sarah Palin of Alaska. In the video below, if I close my eyes, I’m not sure whether I’m listening to the Governor of Alaska or Tammy Faye Baker. In Sarah’s mystical world, God does indeed work in mysterious ways. It is His work that the Alaska pipeline be built. His hand is on our soldiers in Iraq. (I guess this is a religious war after all!) But the most mysterious thing of all is God’s hand in Sarah’s rise to prominence. Check out the end of this approximately eight minute video to see what I mean.

Now, she talked kinda fast but I transcribed her final anecdote as best I could. She was talking about a “bold” minister of her church who said, in reference to Sarah’s ascension to Governor,

Lord make a way, Lord make a way! [The minister] doesn’t even know what I’m gonna do, he doesn’t know what my plans are. and he’s prayin’ not ‘oh lord if it be your will, may she become Governor?’, no he just prayed for it and said Lord make a way and let her do this next step. That’s exactly what happened.

As I listened to this, all I could think was that John McCain had the same approach of Sarah’s former minister. McCain was surely saying

“Lord, make a way” for me to become the next President of the United States. I don’t know what Sarah will do. I don’t know what her plans are. Heck, I don’t really know her from Eve. I’m just sayin’ Lord make a way and let Sarah and me take this next step.

No wonder Sarah fell head over heels for McCain. He has the same blind faith in her that her former pastor had!

But I digress. Bottom line, do we really want a Vice President who is on record telling her fellow parishoners to go forth and introduce folks to Jesus Christ? Do we really want a Vice President who can’t tell the difference between domestic/foreign policy and the works of God?

Perhaps when I get the warm fuzzy that Palin understands she will be Vice President of Christians, Jews, Buddhists, Atheists, Agnostics, and OMG, even Muslims, I can rest a bit easier. Until then, I’ll be praying to my own personal deity that this woman does not get anywhere near the White House.

Respectfully,
Rutherford

WordPress.com Political Blogger Alliance

2 thoughts on “Sarah Palin’s Reverend Wright is … ehhh … Sarah Palin?

  1. Interestingly, Keith Olbmermann has suggested that said action figure include a pull string that allows the Sarah doll to recite one of several memorized talking points, much the same way the real Sarah Palin did in the Charles Gibson interview. Probably one of the first pull string recordings would be “We shouldn’t second guess Israel”. 🙂

What's on your mind?

