If Only I’d Known

I’ve been beating myself up the past 48 hours because if only I’d known John McCain’s standards for a candidate for Vice President of the United States, I would have contacted the McCain vetting team and submitted my wife for consideration.

The Economy
My wife worked in a bank for several years.
My wife was elected VP of Finance for the local chapter of an international organization.

Foreign Affairs
My wife is the team leader of a group of systems analysts who maintain web servers 24×7. As such, she has frequent contact with teammates in India and Brazil. I might add that she has an excellent rapport with these folks, clear demonstration of her diplomatic ability.

Political Experience
As stated earlier, she was elected in a landslide victory for VP of Finance. Furthermore, I know of no one who has been more capable of cutting through office politics. She would end the gridlock in Washington!

That 3am Phone Call
Take it from me, my wife receives work related phone calls at 1am, 2am, 3am, 4am and just today 5:15am (she’s currently taking a well deserved nap).

Compelling Personal Story
My wife is a cancer survivor whose father had a physical disability, whose cousin has a cognitive disability and whose husband has a physical disability. She grew up in a small town in Illinois, rose through the ranks of the banking industry and then relocated to the East coast where she re-invented herself as an expert in information technology. She was an accomplished clarinetist in her home town marching band and she makes damn good caramel corn. Her daughter is about to be deployed to pre-K class this September.

If there are any independent candidates for President out there who have not yet chosen a running mate, please contact me.

Mrs. Lawson is ready to serve!

Respectfully,
Rutherford

WordPress.com Political Blogger Alliance

6 thoughts on “If Only I’d Known

  1. Why stop at VP? It sounds like Mrs. Lawson has about as much experience as Barack Obama.

    All she is lacking is a book, a speech, and a week-long world tour.

  2. By your description and the (low) standards set by those who support Obama, I’d say your wife would be a better candidate than Obama.

    In all seriousness, I am amazed at the folks who will bash the resume of Palin for VP, while supporting Obama for President.

    While Obama may have more time in government, much like your wife’s list, I’d say that Sarah Palin has made more impact in the experience that she has.

    And I think there is a good argrument to made that even though Obama has been in the spotlight for several months, he really hasn’t answered that many lingering questions about his associations in the past…..point being we really don’t know him that much better than we know Palin!

    (FYI – The low standards I mentioned are not a reflection on your wife….actually her list of achievements is quite impressive….I say You Go Girl!)

  3. Ahhhhhhh, but do you “dress” your own deer & fish, Ms. Lawson? See, this is where your qualifications end for the VP position! *buzzer* So sorry. /snark of course 😉

  4. Sharprightturn, Palin has made more of a difference? How so? Did she ever go into a poverty stricken area where the angry mobs lay and turn it around like Barack Obama did in the Souths side of Chicago or was selling the Governor’s plane as Palin did or abuse her power by firing the guy who wouldn’t fire her sister’s husband because she hated his guts? Huh?

    Enlighten us. Tell us what Palin has done in her life that has changed lives. Oh, and don’t forget how she was almost impeached when she was the Mayor…

  5. To sharprightturn, I’m remiss in my much belated thanks for your support of my wife’s candidacy.

    Just for the record, I think my wife is the tops, the finest woman I know. My high esteem for her doesn’t make her a logical VP candidate and quite frankly, if she got the call to serve, the first thing she’d ask is “what are those folks smoking?”

    Methinks Sarah Palin should have asked the same question. 🙂

What's on your mind?

