Using Fear to Fight Health Care Reform: Obama Video Address: July 25, 2009

When I was in college, I was a bit of what you’d call “a worry wart”. I always analyzed all the ways things could go wrong before I took action. My roommate used to call these “imaginary horribles”. As I look at the public reaction to health care reform, I see lots of imaginary horribles floating to the surface, stoked by Republican opposition.

One great instance was when Obama was at an AARP forum and he was asked by a phone caller whether it was true that under the new health care reform, government officials would visit every medicare recipient to discuss how they wanted to die. This would be funny if it were not so sad and pathetic. Innocent people being snookered into believing nightmare scenarios by obstructionist Republicans. In this week’s video address, Obama discusses one concrete measure that the reform will provide which will make matters better for small business.

And now the President of the United States of America:

The regular appearance of bogeymen has made me pessimistic recently about the prospects of health care reform but fortunately the blue dog democrats are coming along. This interview with Senator Sherrod Brown talks about what is in the various versions of the bills, without all the bogeymen.

I’m also glad to see Obama finally getting a bit pissed publicly about this and warning folks that Republicans “are just trying to scare you”.

Respectfully,
Rutherford

WordPress.com Political Blogger Alliance